Principal Investigator

Dr. Palardy headshotGenevieve Palardy 

Assistant Professor, Mechanical & Industrial Engineering, LSU (2017-present).
Postdoctoral Researcher, Aerospace Engineering, TU Delft, Delft, Netherlands (2014-2017).
Research Associate, Bombardier Aerospace/McGill University, Montreal, QC, Canada (2012-2013).
PhD, Mechanical Engineering, McGill University, Montreal, QC, Canada (2012).
MEng., Mechanical Engineering, McGill University, Montreal, QC, Canada (2007).
BEng., Mechanical Engineering, University of Sherbrooke, Sherbrooke, QC, Canada (2004).


Awards and Honors

  • NSF CAREER Award, 2021
  • LSU Alumni Association Rising Faculty Research Award, 2021
  • Michael R. Mangham Tiger Athletic Foundation Undergraduate Teaching Award, 2020
  • McGill Engineering Doctoral Award (MEDA), 2007 – 2010
  • McGill Provost’s Graduate Fellowship, 2009 – 2010
  • Hydro-Quebec Fellowship, 2007 – 2009
  • 1st prize for poster competition of the 9th Annual Super Light Weight Composite Bridge Building Contest (SAMPE, Long Beach), 2006


Palardy Lab group picture

Our group as of February 2020 (pre-COVID 19 measures...).



Graduate Students

Armaghan's portrait

Armaghan Naderi 

PhD student (2018-present)

   Madeline portrait

Madeline Kirby 

Accelerated M.Sc. student (2020-present)

Wencai Li's portrait

Wencai Li

PhD student (2019-present)

Luis Velazquez' portrait

Luis Velazquez 

M.Sc. student (2020-present)

Co-supervised with Dr. Barbalata


Debaroty Roy 

PhD student (2020-present)

Co-supervised with Dr. Li





Undergraduate Students

Luke Weger – Smart Polymers REU, University of Iowa (Summer 2021)


Graduate students

Harry Frederick, M.Sc. (Fall 2020) – Waldemar S. Nelson and Company, Inc. 

Juan Amaya (Research Associate I, Winter-Summer 2020)

Steven Williams (PhD student, 2018-2020) – M.Sc. in Robotics at LSU

David Hoskins, M.Sc. (Fall 2019) – Research Associate at Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) and University of Tennessee - Knoxville

Undergraduate students

Jacob Agostinho – ME LSU (Fall 2020-Spring 2021) 

Judah Wolf – ME LSU (2019-2020)

Caroline Cochran – CIMM REU, LSU (Summer 2020)

Benjamin Vigier – Polytech Lyon intern (Spring-Summer 2020)

Kyle Huber (Honors Thesis) – ME LSU (Fall 2019 and Spring 2020) 

Quentin Moussiere – Polytech Lyon intern (Spring-Summer 2019)

William Sands – Smart Polymers REU, Clemson University (Summer 2019)

Clayton Terrebonne – ME LSU (2018-2019)

Marie Allain – ME LSU (2018-2019)

Melanie Toups – CIMM REU, University of Louisiana at Lafayette (Summer 2018)

Erin Tsai – Smart Polymers REU, Trinity University (Summer 2018) - Now PhD student in Chemistry at LSU

Joshua Vrettos – ME LSU (Summer 2018)


Melanie Toups and her REU poster

Melanie Toups (REU Summer 2018)

Erin Tsai and her REU poster

Erin Tsai (REU Summer 2018)

Will Sands and his REU poster

William Sands (REU Summer 2019)