Jyotsna Sharma


Dr. Jyotsna Sharma
Assistant Professor, Devon Energy Career Development Professor, Department of Petroleum Engineering, LSU, 3212H Patrick F. Taylor Hall
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
Office: 225-578-6042
Email: JSharma@lsu.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Research Interests

Fiber Optic Sensing

Machine Learning and Data Analytics

Enhanced Oil Recovery

Formation Evaluation

Sensors and Sensing


Join Research Group

Work Experience

Assistant Professor- LSU, Baton Rouge (LA) [2019 - Present] 
Research Engineer- Chevron, Bakersfield (CA) [2014-18]
Reservoir Engineer- Chevron, Houston (TX) [2013-14]
Simulation Engineer- Chevron, Calgary, Canada [2012-13]
Visition Scholar- Stanford University, USA [2010]
Research Intern- Shell, Calgary, Canada [2009]
Field Engineer- Schlumberger, Whitecourt, Canada [2006-07]
Research Intern-Technische Universitat Dresden, Germany [2005]

Recent News

Nov. '20 journal paper published in Nanomaterials
Nov. '20 journal paper published in IEEE Sensors
Oct. '20 Dr. Sharma (co-PI) awarded DOE EPSCoR funding
Aug. '20 journal paper accepted in Fuel
July '20 Dr. Sharma (PI) receives NASA Grant (LaSPACE)


  • Digital Scholarship, LSU Library [2019]
  • Certificate of Digital Innovation, Chevron [2018]
  • Selected for Chevron’s Data Science Development Program for Data Analytics initiatives [2018]
  • Selected for Chevron’s Mentoring Excellence in Technology for technical achievements [2017]
  • Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) Outstanding Service Award, given to 0.1% of over 110,000 members worldwide [2016]
  • SPE Technical Editor Recognition [2015]
  • Lean Sigma Green Belt Certification - lead 15 Lean Sigma projects saving over $5 MM [2015]
  • Penn West Energy Graduate Scholarship, University of Calgary [2011]
  • Dr. Roger Butler Memorial Graduate Scholarship, University of Calgary [2010−2011]
  • “Best Technical Presentation” at the Improved Oil Recovery Conference, Tulsa, USA [2010]
  • SPE of Canada Graduate Scholarship [2010−2011]
  • “Best Graduate Paper” at the Canadian International Petroleum Conference, Calgary [2009]
  • Zandmer and Ursula Graduate Scholarship, University of Calgary [2009−2010]
  • Elnova Award for the “Best Undergraduate Project” in Power Engineering at IIT−Delhi [2006]
  • Director’s Merit Certificate for being amongst the top 7% students in IIT−Delhi [2004−2005]
  • Jawaharlal Nehru National Merit Scholarship by the Steel Authority of India Ltd. [2002−2006]