## LSU Agriculture Faculty Council Meeting December 17, 2020 TEAMS



Call to Order: Called by Dr. Sun Joseph Chang at 9:32 a.m.

**Members In Attendance:** Those present included: Sun Joseph Chang, Zhiyuan Chen, Liu Chuanlan, Blair Hebert, Bin Li, Ken McMillan, Gene Reagan, Teresa Raley, Mark Schafer, Mark Wilson, Kristin Stair, Subramaniam Sathivel, Bradley Pousson, Wenqing Xu, Ashley Powell, William Afton, Gary Stockton, Brandon Reeder, Daniel Swale, Shannon Waits, and Nathan Lord. Dr. Bill Richardson and Ashley Geautreaux were also in attendance.

The minutes were approved as presented.

**Guest Speakers:** Dr. Bill Richardson addressed the Faculty Council with an update:

- The primary challenge for AgCenter dealing with CoVid 19 is meeting regulations, restrictions on attendance, room/facility capacity, etc.
- LSU Spring semester will be combination of face to face, online, and hybrid courses.
- Revisions to the Remote Work Policy are being made.
- Budget will be discussed again after the first of 2021. Budget deficit for 2021-2022 will have to be addressed.

Ashley Geautreaux also addressed the Council as AgCenter Title IX Coordinator.

- Title IX is specific to educational arenas and specifically addresses issues concerning gender and sexual discrimination/harassment.
- Everyone is required to report allegations of misconduct. Nothing is confidential.
- Chain of command begins with AgCenter Human Resources, Ashley Geautreaux or Denise Fontenot. They will help determine the correct/proper avenues of reporting.
- Bullying falls under Workplace Violence not Title IX unless it is sexual.
- Title IX training must be completed by December 31, 2020.
- Field faculty need to complete the AgCenter training because of working with outside entities.
- Anyone working with minors is considered a mandatory reporter and should report to the Department of Child and Family Services (DCFS) immediately and then to AgCenter HR. DCFS link <u>www.dcfs.louisiana.gov/page/556</u>
- Ethic Training must be completed by December 31, 2020.
- Civil Rights Training must be completed by January 15, 2021.

## **Discussions:**

Dr. Chang announced the members whose terms are ending in December Gene Reagan, Kristin Stair, Bin Li, Subramaniam Sathivel, Wenqing Xu, Ashley Powell, Teresa Raley and Shannan Waits. New members for 2021 to 2023 are: Kristin Stair, Subramaniam Sathivel, Daniel Swale, Bei-bei Guo, Nathan Lord, Ashely Powell, Gary Stockton, and William Afton. Dr. Chang thanked members for their service and extended holiday and Christmas well wishes to everyone.

Dr. Ken McMillin will chair the nominating committee for the upcoming Faculty Council Chairperson. The nominating committee will consist of Dr. McMillin, Dr. Subramaniam Sathivel, Blair Hebert and Teresa Raley.

Adjourn: The meeting was adjourned at 10:35 a.m.