LSU Agriculture Faculty Council Meeting 9:30 AM, January 17, 2020

Call to Order by Dr. Sun Joseph Chang at 9:35 a.m. First order of business was the election of the 2020 Chair, Vice Chair, Council Recorder and the election of two members to serve on the Executive Committee. Sun Joseph Chang was elected to serve as Chair, Steve Harrison as Vice Chair, Teresa Raley as Recorder. Becky Geautreaux and Gene Ragan will serve as Executive Committee members.

The November 2019 minutes were approved as presented.

Ms. Ashley Gautreaux, Director of HRM attended as the invited guest speaker. She discussed the Crisis Leave Pool and how it operates. An employee can donate up to 240 hours of Annual Leave per calendar year. The recipient of the leave can only receive 240 hours specifically for FMLA qualified catastrophic event or injury, or mental health. All personal leave, both Annual and Sick, has to be exhausted prior to receiving Crisis Leave. Guideline are established by the Civil Service.

The Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) was discussed. An employee can receive up to 12 weeks per year of FMLA leave. The employee must have been employed for one year before being eligible for FMLA. Employees do not have to take all 12 weeks at once.

Other items of business discussed included:

- Moving the February 2020 meeting to February 21.
- Canceling the December 2020 meeting
- Cancelling the May 2020 meeting due to Commencement is same day
- The importance of attending the Board of Supervisors meetings.
- April 2020 is the deadline for Americans with Disabilities (ADA) compliance
- The importance of PM-16: Protection of Minors Participating in LSU Programs on agents and hiring of high school students https://www.lsu.edu/administration/policies/pmfiles/pm 16.pdf
- The importance of the Regional Directors Performance Survey
- Optional insurance for surprise billing under LSU First Policy

Sun Joseph Chang gave a report of the January 2020 Board of Supervisors meeting. The Faculty Council can offer suggestions to be presented to the Board of Supervisors.

The new Faculty Council members were announced and welcomed. They are:

- <u>Campus council members</u>: Richard Cooper, School of Animal Sciences. Mark Schafer, Department
 of Ag Economics and Ag Business, Chuanlan Liu School of Textile, Apparel Design, and
 Merchandising; Chandra Theegala, Biological and Ag Engineering
- Off-campus council members: Kylee Brown, West Baton Rouge Parish, Becky Gautreaux, Lafourche Parish, Blair Herbert, Iberia Parish, Bradley Pousson, Cameron Parish, Stuart Gauthier, St. Martin Parish.

The schedule for 2020 Faculty Council meetings are: Jan 17, Feb 21, Mar 20, April 17, June 12, July 17, August 21, Sept 18, Oct 16, and Nov 20

Steven Harrison moved to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Becky Geautreaux. The meeting was adjourned at 11:31 a.m. Lunch was served.