LSU Agriculture Faculty Council Meeting 9:30 am, April 20, 2018 Room 212, Efferson Hall



Call to Order: Called by Sun Joe Chang at 9:33am

<u>Members In Attendance</u>: Mandy Armentor, Ed Bush, Melissa Cater, Sun Jo Chang, Chris Clark, Richard Cooper, Betsy Crigler, Adriana Drusini, Becky Gautreaux, Blair Hebert, Denise Holston- West, Bin Li, Chuanlan Liu, Shatonia McCarty, Ashley Powell, Teresa Raley, Gene Reagan, Claudette Reichel, Subramaniam Sathivel, Gary Stockton, Shannan Waits, Wenqing Xu

Members Absent: Ken McMillin, Paul (Trey) Price, Mark Schafer

Vice President and Dean's Report – Dr. Richardson was not in attendance.

<u>Invited Guest</u>- Dr. Sasha Thackaberry, Associate Vice Provost, On-line and Distance Education

Dr. Thackaberry is the Vice Provost of Digital and Continuing Education. She thoroughly explained the avenue LSU wants to take in the next five years. She urged the council to visit nosignificant difference.com to view the Meta analysis on in class versus online education statistics. LSU's goal for 2025 is to have 30,000 online learners. She vows to secure standardized ways for online education. Anywhere.lsu.edu is the new online education website. Her plan is to have a mentor for every online student. This mentor will be the mediator from campus to the student.

Due to a lengthy and late start to Dr. Thackaberry's presentation, Dr. Philip Elzer (Executive Associate Dean) had to leave to make another meeting.

Business – Chris Clark motioned to approve the minutes from the March meeting. Gene Reagan seconded the motion. The motion passed.

Reports

- The Board of Supervisors did not meet in April. The next meeting will be on May 4, 2018.
- Interviews are underway for the Commissioner of Higher Education (Board of Regents).
- The Director of Human Resources for LSU left and Stacia Haynie, the Dean of the College of Humanity & Social Sciences will now be the director.

Announcements

• Dr. Chang will be absent for the May Ag Faculty Council meeting. Dr. Subramaniam Sathivel will chair the meeting.

Discussion Items

- Questions were asked about unit head evaluations and what they would be based on. Several criteria included performance on employee's satisfaction, ability to treat all personnel fairly, ability to handle finances fairly. These questions would be answered on a 1-5 scale. It has been expected for department heads to help young faculty strive to prevent a high turnover rate. Since we have a high turnover rate, the price to keep training new individuals is too high.
- All four Executive Council members were nominated to sit on Dr. Richardson's Annual Conference review committee.
- This entire discussion about the strategic plan has been tabled until May. Due to its appearance on the agenda, it has been included in the minutes. Sun Jo assigned individuals to appropriate groups to adjust the Strategic Plan to reflect what the AgCenter should be known for.

Initiative task forces, subject to trading among group members and/ or additional membership in other groups to be chaired by name in **bold**

Advancing culture and arts

Chris Clark, Chuanlan Liu, Trey Price

Bridging the coast, energy, and environment

S. Joe Chang, Claudette Reichel, Adriana Drusini Chair,

Foster research and economic development

Richard Cooper, Gene Reagan, Blair Hebert, Gary Stockton Improving health and wellbeing:

Obesity task force --Denise Holston-West, Subramaniam Sathivel, Becky Gautreaux, Mandy Armentor, Shatonia McCarty

Transforming education

Melissa Cater, Mark Shafer, Bin Li, Ashley Powell, and Shannan Waits Developing leaders

Ed Bush, Wenqing Xu, Ken McMillin, Betsy Crigler, and Teresa Raley

<u>Adjourn</u>

Becky Gautreaux motioned to adjourn the meeting. Teresa Raley second the motion. The meeting was adjourned at 11:38 am.