LSU Agriculture Faculty Council Meeting 9:30 am January 16, 2015 Room 212 Efferson Hall



Call to Order - Ken McMillin, Council Chair

<u>Members Present</u> – Mandy Armentor, Margo Castro (proxy Mariah Simoneaux), Cynthia Clifton, Jeff Davis, Thomas Dean, Adriana Drusini, Jennifer Duhon (proxy Mandy Armentor), Luis Escobar, Kiki Fontenot, Kenneth Guidry, Kurt Guidry, Joan King, Ken McMillin, Deborah Melvin, Kori Myers, Ioan Negulescu, Charles Overstreet (proxy Diane Sasser), David Picha, Gerald Roberts, Diane Sasser, Mariah Simoneaux, Neely Walker

Members Absent - Andrew Granger

Guests – Dr. Guillermo Scaglia, Associate Professor, Iberia Research Station

- There is an issue with representation of research station faculty and staff on faculty council. Off
 campus faculty are grouped with agents within their rank (assistant, associate, full). Research
 faculty are greatly outnumbered and do not win elections.
- There is a difference between on campus faculty and research station faculty. On stations, faculty members must be more independent and there is less interaction with other faculty members.
- According to online data base there are 48 faculty members at research stations. This number includes unit heads.
- Jennifer Duhon will chair committee to look at this issue.

Business

The December 16 minutes were approved with no corrections or objections after the motion by Mandy Armentor and second by Neely Walker.

Nominations were taken for officer positions.

- Mandy Armentor nominated Ken McMillin for the position of Council Chair. Ken initially
 declined the position, but was agreeable to accept if there was increased participation from
 Council members in 2015.. Mandy suggested that Ken share lunch and room preparation duties
 with another council member to lessen his burden. Kiki volunteered.
- Ioan Negulescu nominated Diane Sasser for the position of Vice Chair. A motion to close nominations was made by Ioan and seconded by Thomas Dean. Diane accepted the position.
- Kori Myers, Mariah Simoneaux and Cynthia Clifton were nominated for the position of recorder.
 A motion to close nominations was made by Ioan Negulescu and seconded by Thomas Dean. A vote was made. Mariah accepted the position.

Executive Committee is made up the officers plus council members. Mandy Armentor moved that four council members should serve on the Executive Committee. Neely Walker seconded the motion. Ioan Negulescu, Kori Myers, Gerald Roberts and David Picha were elected to serve.

Currently no representative from Biological and Agricultural Engineering (BAE) serves on Agriculture Faculty Council. They have mentioned they have loyalties to agriculture and would like to be included.

Comments from members:

- Council should represent everyone.
- Equal representation.
- We need a clear organizational structure.
- What stations are animal related? Iberia, Idle Wild, Deal Lee, Southeast (???), Hill Farm
- What about aquaculture?
- If elected to serve on council BAE representative should have at least 50% agriculture appointment.
- Counterparts in all fields should be made aware that we represent them. Could Jeff Ivey help with this? Minutes are posted to intranet.
- Why is there no representation from North Louisiana?

A motion was made by Neely Walker that BAE should be included in Agriculture Faculty Council and that representatives should have at least a 50% agriculture appointment. Thomas Dean seconded the motion. David Picha moved that Agriculture Education and Extension (AEE) should be included as well. Thomas Dean seconded the motion. After discussion, the motion passed.

Election in Experimental Statistics will take place at faculty meeting instead of electronically. Smaller departments are less likely to nominate individuals.

A motion was made by Neely Walker that the committee chaired by Jennifer Duhon would work with Ken to determine the makeup of the council and the number of faculty and staff in each department/region/program/etc. Adriana Drusini seconded the motion. Mandy Armentor, Kurt Guidry, Adriana Drusini will serve on the committee and provide an update at the February meeting.

Bylaws were reviewed. A motion was made by Ken McMillin to accept the changes to Article VII - 3, VIII - 2 A and VIII - 2 B. Diane Sasser seconded the motion. A motion was made by Diane Sasser to accept the changes to VIII - 3 C, VIII - 4 A, VIII - 5 A, B, and C. Jeff Davis seconded the motion.

A motion was made by Diane Sasser to accept all changes made to the Election Manual except the note which will be changed to "11 on-campus agriculture units". David Picha seconded the motion.

Reports

Board of Supervisors and Council of Faculty Advisors meeting at the end of the month on January 29.

Announcements

Mary Claire Gilder will attend the February Meeting as our guest.

Discussion Items

90 out of 210 people voted in the election. 52 voted in the runoff.

Administrators are still negotiating with the candidate for the I-20 recruiting position. I-10 position should be advertised soon.

FFA livestock judging contest separated from 4-H livestock judging contest. Only 4-H will compete at the State Livestock Show.

There was no announcement about Jeff Bush leaving the 4-H Foundation for the Red Cross. Interactions with Foundation staff is important for agents.

Ken met with Dr. Burnett and Dr. Richardson about making revision to PS-42, and Kevin Brady about exit interviews. Executive Committee will review questions.

9 month appointments are now available to on campus faculty. Many other universities are successful with this program. Ken will continue to investigate.

The international programs advisory committee met last week. Global Ag Hour continues. Many visiting scholar visits are planning during the next few months. New location in Hatcher Hall, an open house will be held Friday January 23 from 2:00 to 4:00.

Ken will talk to Dr. Richardson about retiree email addresses and the Graduate Faculty status of submitted nominations from the Ag Center.

ALL COA and AgCenter directories need updating. Who has this responsibility? Why isn't it getting done?

There needs to be consistency for joint employees between the LSU Ag Center and SUAREC.

What is the status of CMS? Website links not working on some pages.

On campus faculty received email about grant funds being used for supplies. A motion was made by Ioan Negulescu to submit a formal complaint on behalf of the council. Thomas Dean seconded the motion.

The new Director of Nutrition and Food Sciences Dr. Louise Wicker will start on July 1.

<u>Adjourn</u>

Motion to adjourn the meeting was made by Mandy Armentor with second by Tom Dean. No opposition.